Welcome to my woods!

I have been running the trails at Hodges Village Dam for almost 20 years.  The Army Corps of Engineers maintains a flood control project that encompasses about 1200 acres, full of trails for running, hiking, mountain biking, motorcycle riding, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Over the years I have run on sunny summer days, and in rainstorms, blizzards, droughts, and floods.

I have watched a huge construction project to build an impermeable core in the dam, seen logging done, and watched the water level go up and down.  I have met some interesting people: runners, hikers, skiers, bikers, motorcyclists, photographers, and bird watchers.  I have met some people I don’t like: dog walkers. I have shared the woods with trail running racers, mountain bike racers, motorcycle racers, horse back riders, and Boy Scouts.

Everyday there is something new to see: trees leafing and falling down, flowers blooming, mushrooms growing, the water level changing, beaver dams, birds, snakes, deer, grasshoppers, and my favorites – dragonflies. I want to share all these with you, along with some of my observations and obsessions about everything to do with trail running.

And remember: The road to Hell is paved, so stay on the trails!!

One thought on “Welcome to my woods!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

